Director General

Message from Director General

It is my pleasure to present the website of the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), the apex body of science museums and centres, a trend setter in the field of creative communication in science and technology both at national and international level.

For over 5 decades now National Council of Science Museums (NCSM) has donned the mantle of this bridge between the common people and new knowledge in science. NCSM is primarily engaged in enhancing public engagement and appreciation of Science and Technology through network of 47 hands on and interactive science museums/centres spread across the country, Mobile Science Exhibitions (MSE) units for rural areas and plethora of activities for public and students in particular.

It aims to develop a science & technology literate society as envisaged in Science, Technology & Innovation (STI) Policy, 2013 of Govt. of India.

All NCSM units actively create a free choice learning environment where people from different walks of life comprising students in organized groups, family groups and tourists are encouraged to get engaged and participate in the scientific process.The extensive activities in all the units offer to the visitors a platform to comprehend scientific concepts.

NCSM shall become a fully self-sufficient, professionally, technically and human resource wise in next 10 years to catalyse and specialise the gigantic task of setting up of one science centre in each district of the country.


A D Choudhury

Director General

Succession Chart of Director General, NCSM
Sl. No. Name Period
1. Dr. Saroj Ghose 03.12.1979 – 31.08.1997
2. Shri Ingit Mukherjee 01.09.1997 – 31.12.2007
3. Dr. J. Sthanapati 02.01.2008 – 16.01.2008
4. Shri Ingit Mukherjee 17.01.2008 – 16.01.2009
5. Shri G. S. Rautela 17.01.2009 – 29.02.2016
6. Shri A. S. Manekar 01.03.2016 – 30.09.2017
7. Shri K. G. Kumar 20.10.2017 – 09.11.2017
8. Shri A. S. Manekar 10.11.2017 – 31.03.2018
9. Shri A. D. Choudhury 01.04.2018 – Till Date